How to pray when you are going through trials and tribulations?


Many times in life when we are faced with trials and tribulations it becomes difficult for you to pray when your heart is breaking. You end up consumed and overwhelmed by the situations that are going on around you. It’s hard to pray when it’s your emotions and hurt in control instead of God.

I have come to the realization that when we go through trials and tribulations that’s when we need to draw close to God and He will draw close to us.

I wondered how Jesus prayed when His soul was in distress, then I came across this scripture in Mathew 26:36-42 it shows us how to pray when faced with trials and tribulations….


Jesus Prays in Gethsemane.                          36 Then Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to his disciples, “Sit here, while I go over there and pray.” 37 And taking with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to be sorrowful and troubled. 38 Then he said to them, “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death; remain here, and watch[a] with me.” 39 And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” 40 And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping. And he said to Peter, “So, could you not watch with me one hour? 41 Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” 42 Again, for the second time, he went away and prayed, “My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it, your will be done.”

What do we learn in this passage?

*We learn that God wants us to give Him our hearts and trust Him when trials and tribulations come. He says in His word that His strength is Made perfect in our weaknesses .

*We learn that whenever we are faced by trying times we are not supposed to pray our will but Gods will be done because God always knows what’s best for us and He will always give us victory over the storms of life.

*We learn to trust in Gods provision nomatter what we are faced with. He got you in season and out of season.

Jesus is the perfect example of how to pray when your heart is breaking. I love how Jesus lets us see it’s okay to live our broken hearts to God.

Meditation: Do you believe that God will do the best for you? The answer is yes!!! Hebrews 12:2-3

“looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted”.

Pray this: 

Dear lord my heart is breaking right now, I don’t know what to do. I give  you all the broken fragments of my life put them back together piece by piece. I have learned that you have the best plan for my life. I now know that I can’t do life without you guiding my path , so I surrender my pain, this season, ever trial and tribulation I am facing today in your hands. Jesus let your will be done in my life for the glory of Your name in Jesus name I pray Amen

(Share this post)

I also love for you to connect with me on  *Twitter                                                        *Facebook                                                   *Instagram

Love Antoinette 

Leave a Reply

